Skip directly to content

Bildgebende Diagnostik

BD-01: Breast-CT

The primary aim of this project is to improve early-stage diagnostics for breast cancer. The goal is to develop a 3D breast X-ray computer tomograph (breast CT for short) for the female breast, characterized by higher sensitivity in the early detection of breast cancer, as well as by greater patient comfort. Every step from the imaging of microcalcifications and the differential diagnosis of lesions with dynamic CT, through to image-guided biopsy can all be performed on one device during just one patient appointment.

Better detection and differentiation between benign and malignant tumors

BD-05: 3D catheter localization for ablation in the heart by means of biplanar fluoroscopy

Atrial fibrillation is the most common form of cardiac arrhythmia, with around one million sufferers in Germany alone. This specific form of cardiac arrhythmia is associated with an increased risk of strokes, the development of cardiac insufficiency as well as general cardiovascular morbidity.

X-ray-guided catheter ablation represents an effective approach to treating atrial fibrillation. With this process, a three-dimensional superimposed image can be calculated from a pre-operative dataset (e.g.

BD-02: CT Angiography for the early detection of coronary heart disease

The major aim of sub-project BD02 is to develop and validate new computer tomography procedures which enable representation of the coronary arteries and the detection and quantification of atherosclerotic plaque with enhanced spatial and temporal resolution, higher reproducibility and, very importantly, with less radiation exposure. Siemens AG is undertaking the technical development work, which includes new detector technologies, new image reconstruction processes and new algorithms for software-based automatic diagnostics.

BD-10: Improving the absolute accuracy of medical positioning devices

Developing a camera-based positioning system that increases the (absolute) positioning accuracy of a patient positioning system (with 6 degrees of freedom) so that the deviation between the actual and target positions is < 0.25mm radius of curvature.

Project Duration

01.04.2011 - 31.03.2013

Project Partners

  • Siemens Aktiengesellschaft Healthcare
  • Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg (FAU)

Contact

Michael Meyer

Siemens Healthcare CV ID IBD 
michael.meyer@siemens.com
+49 -9642- 18 947

BD-06: Local tumor therapy with magnetic nanoparticles

In 2006, there were 426,800 new cases of cancer in Germany and 210,930 people died of the disease.

About half of all newly diagnosed cancer cases are diagnosed when they are localized to one part of the body. Three quarters of these patients can therefore be cured by local intervention, i.e. by an operation, in some cases supplemented by radiotherapy and/or systemic chemotherapy, with additional antibody therapy where appropriate. However, with the other half of newly diagnosed cases, the illness is already at an advanced stage and will not respond to conventional local therapy.

Localized,

Pages

Skip directly to content

Bildgebende Diagnostik

BD-01: Brust-CT

Primäres Ziel des Projekts ist die Verbesserung der Frühdiagnostik von Brustkrebs. Hierfür soll ein 3D-Brust-Röntgen-Computertomograph (kurz: Brust-CT) für die weibliche Brust entwickelt werden, der sich durch höhere Sensitivität in der Brustkrebsfrüherkennung sowie einen größeren Patientenkomfort auszeichnen wird. Alle Schritte von der Abbildung der Mikrokalzifizierungen, der Differentialdiagnose von Läsionen mit dynamischer CT bis zur bildgestützten Biopsie können an einem Gerät an nur einem Termin für die Patientin durchgeführt werden.

Durch die bessere Erkennung und Unterscheidung von

BD-05: 3D-Katheterlokalisierung zur Ablation im Herzen mittels biplanarer Fluoroskopie

Vorhofflimmern ist die häufigste Herzrhythmusstörung, an der allein in Deutschland rund eine Million Menschen leiden. Diese spezielle Herzrhythmusstörung ist mit einem erhöhten Schlaganfallrisiko, der Entwicklung von Herzinsuffizienz, sowie generell kardiovaskulärer Morbidität assoziiert.

Ein wirkungsvoller Ansatz in der Therapie des Vorhofflimmerns stellt die Katheterablation dar. Dabei kommen heute entweder Radiofrequenzstromkatheter oder die Ablation mittels Kryoballonkatheter (Kälte-Technologie) zum Einsatz.

BD-02: CT-Angiographie zur Früherkennung der Koronaren Herzerkrankung

Wesentliches Ziel des Teilprojektes BD02 ist die Entwicklung und Validierung neuer Verfahren zur Computertomographie, die die Darstellung der Koronararterien und die Detektion sowie Quantifizierung atherosklerotischer Plaque mit verbesserter Orts- und Zeitauflösung, hoher Reproduzierbarkeit und ganz wesentlich auch mit geringerer Strahlenexposition ermöglicht. Die technische Entwicklungsarbeit wird seitens der Siemens AG vorangetrieben und beinhaltet neue Detektortechnologien, neue Bildrekonstruktionsverfahren und neue Algorithmen zur softwarebasierten automatischen Befundung.

BD-10: Verbesserung der Absolutgenauigkeit von medizinischen Positioniergeräten mittels optischer Messsysteme

Entwicklung eines kamerabasierten Positioniersystems, das die Positioniergenauigkeit (absolut) eines Patientenlagerungstisches (mit 6 Freiheitsgraden) so erhöht, dass die Abweichung zwischen Ist- und Sollposition < 0.25 mm Kugelradius beträgt.  

Projektlaufzeit:

01.04.2011 - 31.03.2013

Kontakt:

Michael Meyer

Siemens Healthcare CV ID IBD 
michael.meyer@siemens.com
+49 -9642- 18 947

BD-06: Lokale Tumortherapie mit Nanopartikeln

In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland traten 2006 etwa 426.800 Krebsneuerkrankungen auf und 210.930 Menschen starben an Krebs

Etwa die Hälfte aller neu diagnostizierten Krebserkrankungen wird im Stadium lokal begrenzter Ausbreitung diagnostiziert. Drei Viertel dieser Patienten können deshalb durch eine lokale Intervention, d.h. eine Operation, zum Teil ergänzt durch eine Bestrahlung und/oder eine systemische Chemotherapie, gegebenenfalls ergänzt durch eine Antikörpertherapie geheilt werden.

Seiten