Skip directly to content

Intelligente Sensorik

IS-08: Home monitoring of patients with cardiac insufficiency to prevent decompensation

This project has been set up to develop a predictor that can reliably forecast a deterioration in cardiac insufficiency in patients implanted with a defibrillator or heart pacemaker. A predictor means an algorithm that determines the risk of impending decompensation and warns the doctor in the event of a threatening condition on the basis of physiological measurement data acquired on a daily basis in the implant and transmitted via a telemedical home monitoring system.

Project Duration

01.07.2010 - 31.12.2014

Project Partners

  • BIOTRONIK SE & Co. KG
  • University Clinic Erlangen

IS-04: Ventilation at home and remote care for patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)

The aim of this project is to further develop out-patient care for patients by telematic methods – first taking the sample fields of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and ventilation in the patient's own home. Care for patients with the assistance of modern telematic methods should enable continuous contact to doctors and nursing staff from the patient's own home, thereby ensuring better healthcare at a lower cost.

IS-05: SmartSensors-B - Exploration of a millimeter wave sensor for non-invasive detection of blood parameters

In the "Smart Sensors B" research project, work is being done within the framework of the Medical Valley Leading Edge Cluster on a high-frequency-based sensor node for non-invasive measurement of blood parameters.

The electrical properties undergo a characteristic change depending on the concentration. These changes can be detected by non-invasive means using integrated high-frequency circuits, whereby costs are getting lower and lower all the time. In future, this could enable portable, automatable long-term measurement of various blood parameters.

Project Duration

01.07.2010 - 30.06.2014

IS-01: Smart Sensors-C - energy efficient mobile communication platform for connecting sensors to a network infrastructure

Providing gap-free communication channels for medical sensor signals from the sensor to the service center level makes an enormous contribution to increasing the effectiveness and efficiency of health services. The mobile communication platform, which acts as an assistance system for the patient, plays a key role both in this communication channel and in the Smart Sensors projects. It is the place where the signals from a variety of sensors are pooled, pre-processed and made available to the service center.

Example: Support for dementia patients

Care for dementia sufferers requires a lot of

IS-10: Smart Sensors E - infrastructure, data management and integrated demonstrator

The aim of the Smart Sensors E project is to extend the basic functionality created in the "Barrier-free Health Assistance" guidance project in order to facilitate attainment of the higher-level goal of researching into modular, intelligent assistance systems that can give specific support to people in a wide variety of personal circumstances. The assistance system is embedded in a complex service setting and comprises the following functions:

  • Data acquisition directly on the person's body
  • Direct transmission of information to the person concerned
  • If required, transmission of information to

IS-03: SmartSensors-A - Integration of sensory in clothing fabrics

Project description

The aim of this project is to research into the commercial viability of integrating sensors into clothing fabrics. It involves the examination of technological solutions for assistance systems that will inconspicuously and reliably support the elderly or disabled, particularly in their day-to-day activities, and thereby enhance their quality of life. One major aspect that has characterized the project right from the start is the direct involvement of subsequent users. The particular needs of user groups are being identified by means of user questionnaires.

IS-02: SmartSensors-D - Seamless localization

The aim of the Smart Sensors D project is to ensure constant remote support independent of location, thus offering more safety to persons in wide variety of situations. This requires a position monitoring function with 100% coverage both indoors and out. The project therefore goes toward meeting the demand to conduct research into overarching position monitoring support for a wide variety of target groups. It will then become easier to locate persons in an emergency (mountaineers, sports persons, children, the chronically sick) and get help to them fast.

IS-09: PULSERA - developing a fall risk sensor

SOPHIA Franken is a group of companies consisting of regional housing companies and home care services. The group has direct access to over 5 000 care patients and 50 000 tenants.

Taking this market access as a basis, the aim of the project is to develop a method for the intelligent use of a 3D acceleration sensor attached to the wrist for the purpose of permanent and home fall risk detection (FRD), thereby developing a further important milestone for high-quality and efficient home care in the region, with the prospect of integrating the process into the existing range of services and

IS-07: Barrier-free health assistance

The aim of the "Barrier-free Health Assistance" guidance project is to conduct research into the basis for a modular, intelligent assistance system that can offer specific support in the form of infrastructure in the environment of people living in the most varied of circumstances. The assistance system is embedded in a comprehensive and complex service structure and comprises the following functions:

  • Data acquisition directly on the person's body
  • Direct transmission of information to the person concerned
  • If required, transmission of information to family, call center, emergency service, etc.

Skip directly to content

Intelligente Sensorik

IS-08: Home-Monitoring von Patienten mit Herzinsuffizienz zur Vermeidung der Dekompensation und zur Senkung der Hospitalisierungsrate

Im Rahmen dieses Projektes soll ein Prädiktor entwickelt werden, der eine Verschlechterung der Herzinsuffizienz bei Patienten mit einem implantierten Defibrillator oder Herzschrittmacher zuverlässig vorhersagen kann. Unter einem Prädiktor wird ein Algorithmus verstanden, der anhand von physiologischen Messdaten, die auf täglicher Basis im Implantat gewonnen und per Home Monitoring telemedizinisch übertragen werden, das Risiko einer bevorstehenden Dekompensation bestimmt und den Arzt bei einem bedrohlichen Zustand warnt.

Projektlaufzeit

01.07.2010 - 31.12.2014

IS-04: Fernbetreuung bei COPD und Heimbeatmung

Ziel ist es, die ambulante Betreuung von Patienten durch Methoden der Telematik weiterzuentwickeln – zunächst exemplarisch im Bereich der chronisch obstruktiven Lungenerkrankung (COPD steht für „Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease") und Heimbeatmung. Die Betreuung von Patienten mit Hilfe moderner Telematik‐Methoden soll einen kontinuierlichen Kontakt zu Ärzten und Pflegepersonal auch von zu Hause aus ermöglichen, und dadurch eine bessere Versorgung bei reduzierten Kosten sicherstellen.

IS-05: SmartSensors-B - Erforschung eines Millimeterwellen-Sensors zur nichtinvasiven Erfassung von Blutparametern

Im Rahmen des Spitzenclusters Medical Valley wird im Forschungsvorhaben Smart-Sensors-B an einem hochfrequenzbasierten Sensorknoten zur nicht-invasiven Messung von Blutparametern gearbeitet.

Die Permittivität eines Probenmaterials (z.B. Blutprobe) ist stark konzentrations- und frequenzabhängig.

Diese Eigenschaft lässt sich mittels breitbandiger HF-Messtechnik nutzen, um Konzentrationsänderungen an einer Materialprobe präzise zu detektieren.

Dabei erlaubt das zugrundeliegende Messprinzip eine portable, automatisierbare und nicht-invasive Erfassung dieser Blutparameter.

Projektlaufzeit

IS-01: SmartSensors-C - Energieeffiziente, mobile Kommunikationsplattform zur Anbindung von Sensoren an eine Netzwerkinfrastruktur

Die Bereitstellung lückenloser Kommunikationswege für medizinische Sensorsignale vom Sensor bis hin zu einer Servicezentrale leistet einen enormen Beitrag zur Steigerung der Effektivität und der Effizienz der Gesundheitsversorgung. Dabei nimmt die mobile Kommunikationsplattform, die als Assistenzsystem für den Patienten fungiert, eine Schlüsselstelle in diesem Kommunikationsweg sowie in den Smart Sensors Projekten ein. Hier werden die Signale unterschiedlichster Sensoren gebündelt, vorverarbeitet und der Servicezentrale bereitgestellt.

Beispiel: Unterstützung demenzkranker Menschen

Die

IS-10: SmartSensors-E: Infrastruktur, Datenhaushaltung und integrierter Demonstrator

Ziel des Projektes Smart Sensors E ist es, die im Leitprojekt „Barrierefreie Gesundheitsassistenz“ geschaffene Basisfunktionalität so zu erweitern, dass das übergeordnete Ziel ein modulares, intelligentes Assistenzsystem zu erforschen, das Menschen in höchst unterschiedlichen Lebenslagen eine spezifische Unterstützung bieten kann, vollständig umgesetzt werden kann. Das Assistenzsystem ist in ein komplexes Dienstleistungssetting eingebettet und umfasst folgende Funktionen:

  • Datengewinnung direkt am Menschen,
  • direkte Informationsweitergabe an den Menschen,
  • bei Bedarf Weiterleitung der

IS-03: SmartSensors-A - Textile Integration körpernaher Sensorik

Projektbeschreibung

Ziel des Vorhabens ist es, eine verwertbare Integration von körpernaher Sensorik in textile Träger zu erforschen. Damit sollen technologische Lösungen für Assistenzsysteme untersucht werden, die gerade ältere oder behinderte Menschen in ihrem Alltag unauffällig und zuverlässig unterstützen und dadurch die Lebensqualität steigern. Ein wesentlicher Aspekt, der das Projekt von Beginn an prägt, ist die unmittelbare Einbindung der späteren Nutzer.

IS-02: SmartSensors-D - Nahtlose Lokalisierung

Ziel des Projektes Smart Sensors D ist es, eine ortsunabhängige und durchgängige Fernunterstützung zu gewährleisten, um damit die Sicherheit von Personen in verschiedensten Lebenslagen zu erhöhen. Dazu ist eine lückenlose Ortungsfunktionalität sowohl innerhalb wie außerhalb geschlossener Räume notwendig. Das Projekt trägt damit der Forderung Rechnung, eine übergreifende Ortungsunterstützung für unterschiedlichste Zielgruppen zu erforschen. Somit wird das Auffinden von Personen (Sportlern, Kindern, chronisch Kranken) im Notfall erleichtert und schnellere Hilfe möglich.

IS-09: PULSERA - Prävention von Unfällen und langfristigen Sturzrisiken durch Erkennung von Abnormalitäten im Gang

Der Unternehmensverbund SOPHIA Franken, bestehend aus regionalen Wohnungsunternehmen und  ambulanten Pflegediensten, hat direkten Zugang zu mehr als 5.000 Pflegepatienten und 50 000 Mietern.

Aufbauend auf diesem Marktzugang soll mit der Entwicklung einer Methode zur intelligenten Verwendung eines am Handgelenk fixierten 3D-Beschleunigungssensors zur permanenten und häuslichen Sturzrisikoprognose (Fall-Risk-Detection – FRD) ein weiterer wichtiger Meilenstein für eine hochwertige und effiziente häusliche Versorgung in der Region entwickelt werden, mit der Perspektive, das Verfahren in das

IS-07: Barrierefreie Gesundheitsassistenz

Ziel des Leitprojekts „Barrierefreie Gesundheitsassistenz“ ist es, die Basis für ein modulares, intelligentes Assistenzsystem zu erforschen, das Menschen in höchst unterschiedlichen Lebenslagen eine spezifische Unterstützung im Sinne einer Infrastrukturumgebung bieten kann. Ziel ist dabei die Förderung eines "Selbständigen Lebens" mithilfe einer technologieunterstützten Assistenz. Das dazugehörige Assistenzsystem ist in eine umfassende und komplexe Dienstleistungsstruktur eingebettet und umfasst folgende Funktionen:

  • Datengewinnung direkt am Menschen,
  • direkte Informationsweitergabe an den